A Beginning of Something

Hi.

I’m Karin and I live in Paris. I’ve been blogging on various formats for closing in on five years, but this is my first WordPress blog with the specific function and purpose of documenting my life in Paris, one which started just over a year ago. I spent most of that past year being a neurotic, agoraphobic, anxiety-prone wreck, and really did not see much of Paris nor France, nor have I, for all intents and purposes, learned French.

What the hell am I doing here?

Yeah, I have asked myself that question a lot. LOL.

Four months ago, I stopped eating gluten. That’s quite the segue, but let me tie it into the above for you. Gluten intolerance, according to various websites on Celiac Disease and gluten intolerance, as well as Dr. Peter Green in his book Celiac Disease: A Hidden Epidemic, can lead to, amongst a myriad of other symptoms, depression and anxiety in part (it is suspected) due to essential nutrient deprivation to various systems in the body, including the neurological system.

With the help of a friend who had been researching Celiac and gluten intolerance for herself, I discovered that I fit a profile of people who could be Celiac but have not undergone the extensive testing to discover if it is an accurate diagosis. Filled with hope that I might experience positive change in my mind and mood, as well as a host of physical symptoms, I eliminated gluten, and also temporarily, yeast, sugar and dairy products from my diet.

The turnaround has been dramatic so far, and each and every day I experience greater healing and health, in both my body and my mind.

This self-diagnosis of gluten intolerance (and as soon as I am able to have testing to determine if it is Celiac, I will), as well as a visit to Paris by my son, which had the result of waking me up into what a marvelous city this is, has prompted me to begin an exploration of my environs. Through my “adventures,” as I like to call them, I realized that others who are traveling to or living in Paris, especially those following a gluten-free lifestyle, might benefit from reading about my adventures as well. Ergo, this WordPress blog.

I love to photograph this city as well, and the objective of my adventures is often to see what treasures I can capture with the lens of my fairly uncool and unprofessional Nikon Coolpix S200. I’ve begun uploading my photos to my Flickr account here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/karinlynn/ What I am discovering is that it’s not the best camera in the world and has its limitations, but it does take good photos if one is aware of those limitations. (Editing software helps a lot, too.)  And a good eye is a good eye, whether one has a limited point-and-shoot or the best DSLR in the world. Or at least I’d like to think so.

Why An Alien Parisienne?

According to The Free Dictionary, an “alien” is:

adj.
1. Owing political allegiance to another country or government; foreign: alien residents.
2. Belonging to, characteristic of, or constituting another and very different place, society, or person; strange. See Synonyms at foreign.
3. Dissimilar, inconsistent, or opposed, as in nature: emotions alien to her temperament.
n.
1. An unnaturalized foreign resident of a country. Also called noncitizen.
2. A person from another and very different family, people, or place.
3. A person who is not included in a group; an outsider.
4. A creature from outer space: a story about an invasion of aliens.
5. Ecology An organism, especially a plant or animal, that occurs in or is naturalized in a region to which it is not native.

adj.

1. Owing political allegiance to another country or government; foreign: alien residents.
2. Belonging to, characteristic of, or constituting another and very different place, society, or person; strange.
3. Dissimilar, inconsistent, or opposed, as in nature: emotions alien to her temperament.

n.

1. An unnaturalized foreign resident of a country. Also called noncitizen.
2. A person from another and very different family, people, or place.
3. A person who is not included in a group; an outsider.
4. A creature from outer space: a story about an invasion of aliens.
5. Ecology An organism, especially a plant or animal, that occurs in or is naturalized in a region to which it is not native.

A Parisienne (n.) is “A female native or resident of Paris.”

This is where I reside, but each definition above for “alien” very much fits my experience here on a cultural, social, linguistic, emotional, spiritual, and physical level.

So, An Alien Parisienne am I.

I hope to be back this coming week with some posts about places I have been exploring recently, as well as a beautiful lunch experience at a vegetarian, macrobiotic, and also gluten-free restaurant in the city.

Until then, over and out.

Categories: Personal Life | Tags: , ,

Post navigation

18 thoughts on “A Beginning of Something

  1. Miss T

    Ha!
    awesome

    *runs off to find the book*

    • pariskarin

      Thanks for visiting, Miss T! I hope I can do something with this, ya know?

  2. Miss T

    pf
    “something” ??
    knowing you, you’ll make a treasure with this!

  3. Lauri

    YAY! I am really excited to follow your adventures, Karin.

    • pariskarin

      Thanks Lauri!! Oh man, I gotta get a plan on how to tackle this a little better. :)~ But I got this far, so I think I can go farther. Thanks for stopping by. :)

  4. Diana

    Isn’t Paris the most beautiful city in the world? I spent three weeks there in 2007 and I can’t wait to return. I’d love to move there one day, lucky you!

    I look forward learning about your adventures!

    PS: Love your pictures!

    • pariskarin

      Hi Diana! Thank you so much for your comment! I am just starting to come into the idea that I AM lucky to be here; that is the genesis of this blog. :) I’m so glad you found this blog, and you are a huge motivator to go to the next step and blog the next blog, lol. I have about 4 or 5 ideas in mind that are trying to form into an organized post, but I really need to MOVE on it. I’m glad you like the photos, too. It’s something I have been doing — photographing the city with the hopes of posting them here.

      Thank you for being my first “blog responder I don’t already know” and I WILL be back to post more. :)

  5. Pingback: My Adventure Along the Canal St-Martin « An Alien Parisienne

  6. Kristin

    Enjoyed this tonight as I am missing all things Paris. Enjoy her for me fair cousin. I hope to visit her and you soon. Much Love, K

  7. lucy

    Hi!
    your blog has been a great resource! and its a great read too! I am going to be in paris in a few weeks and I want to find interesting restaurants and also ones that aren’t too expensive, but also not touristy (even tho i’m a tourist! ha ha). well you have all sorts of great tips! also I try not to eat wheat or yeast products- so it is great to find out some restaurant recommends from you and also I will try some of the recipes and links to recipes you have posted. I can understand that it is kinda hard to adjust to life in a new city- but I wish I had your problem!!! hey I am also looking for good consignment or charity shops for 2nd hand clothing. or good markets for that….Oh and that is a great tip about google maps! I have the same map reading problem you do- but landmarks are easy…. thanks I enjoyed your blog and your photos are also lovely.

    • pariskarin

      Hi Lucy! Thanks so much for stopping by and leaving a comment! I really appreciate it. I know what you mean about wanting to stay away from overly-touristy places — it is nice to get out and about and really see different parts of the city. One of the things I am trying to work out with this blog is how to let more people know about places to eat when you are traveling here in the city. It’s a bit hard as I don’t have the money to go out to eat a lot! But, I hope you saw the blog on Le Puit de Legumes here: http://analienparisienne.wordpress.com/2009/07/17/some-daily-life-a-restaurant-review-gluten-free-in-paris/

      I have not eaten at the truly gluten-free restaurant Des Si et Des Mets, http://www.dessietdesmets.com/, but hope to really soon!

      I am glad you liked the tip about Google Maps, too – oh my gosh that has made me feel a lot more confidence about getting out and about!

      Thank you again for stopping by… It’s so nice when people come here “out of the blue” and read and post. It’s fun and exciting for me, and makes me feel like the time I spend doing this is worth it, you know? I hope you have a great visit here!!

    • pariskarin

      “hey I am also looking for good consignment or charity shops for 2nd hand clothing. or good markets for that…”

      Oh! I forgot about this part. Hmmm, I have only picked stuff out of the clothing donation station when people leave the bags out in front of it (lol) but I do know people have talked about this in the city. I have found three links right off the bat that may help you:

      http://www.answers.com/topic/flea-markets (that link looks strange, like it might not link to what I am looking at. The index page is here: http://www.answers.com/library/Paris%20and%20Ile%20de%20France-cid-15826771)

      http://www.hedleyshumpers.com/property_news.html

      and

      http://www.gisparis.com/paris_shopping/flea_market.htm

      This is another great idea of something I could check into and post about here. Keep returning — I’ll see what I can do!

  8. Pingback: Paris is Often Not My Kind of Girl « An Alien Parisienne

  9. Pingback: A Taste of Garlic » An Alien Parisienne

  10. Pingback: Craziness in the ‘Hood « An Alien Parisienne

  11. Pingback: Ghetto Living in Paris — Part Three « An Alien Parisienne

  12. Pingback: Trying to put the “Carpe” in “Diem” « An Alien Parisienne

  13. Pingback: The Beginning of Something New « Do-Overs in Denver

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

