Le Bal des Pompiers (The Firemen’s Ball)

A Parisian Tradition: the kitschy Bastille Day Fireman’s Balls (heh, you know, like “galas”).

Read more about them at this link:

http://www.hotels-paris-rive-gauche.com/blog/2009/07/06/paris-firemens-balls-bastille-day-2009-13th-14th-july/#more-3980.

I went to the one in the 19th last night, on rue Bitche (heh). I didn’t drink or eat — no gluten-free options, but it was
fun to watch people! I am working on having gratitude for my camera, which takes the worst night photos. BUT, I have Picasa photo editing to thank for creating some interesting photos, nonetheless, which sort of fit the drunken fun at these events. 🙂 I used “blur photo” a lot. Ha! 🙂 It was a sober and wonderful time for me, and even better, NO HANGOVER today! Woot!

I posted all of the photos at Flickr: http://www.flickr.com/photos/karinlynn and got some great video, too, which I hope to post to YouTube and/or Flickr later on.

Here are some collages of what we saw.

2009 July 13 - Le Bal de Pompiers (Fireman's Ball)

We met and talked with the woman dancing in the photo. I got some great video of this as well, which I am going to work on editing later on and then hopefully post. She did not give her name, but went on and on about being an original Parisienne!

2009 July 13 - Le Bal des Pompiers (Fireman's Ball)

Dancing!!!
2009 July 13 - Le Bal des Pompiers (Fireman's Ball)1
People at the gala.
2009 July 13 - Le Bal des Pompiers (Fireman's Ball)2
PJ and Merguez.
2009 July 13 - Le Bal des Pompiers (Fireman's Ball)3
Collage of me and scenes of the event.
2009 July 13 - Le Bal des Pompiers (Fireman's Ball)4
Dedicated to firemen’s butts, something I am convinced are good-looking the world around! 🙂

Categories: Paris Adventures, Personal Life | Tags: ,

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Le Bal des Pompiers (The Firemen’s Ball)

  1. aimee maher

    *sigh* Still love, love, love the pictures!

  2. Pingback: Juillet is Full of Glee « An Alien Parisienne

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

