Lentil and Rice Pancakes

I’m having trouble with getting into the regular post habit here since returning from vacation.

Part of my writer’s block can be attributed to the fact that I have QUIT SMOKING as of September 16. Yay me! However, yay-not-so-much-for-writing because one of the things I loved to do was smoke and write and write and smoke, and some of my mojo has up and gone without the nicotine to fuel it. Well, that’s not entirely true. I have the notion to write and the words to say, I just find myself getting really antsy and thinking about smokes a lot when I spend too much time seated at the computer, something that is required when writing a blog. Orrrr, something that is required when*I* write a blog, lol.

Anyways, I hinted in my previous post about posting a yummy lentil and rice pancake I had tried to make almost three weeks ago.

Last April, I had purchased some Chana Dal, or yellow lentils. I purchased them in an Asian market in the 13th arrondissement close to the M° Olympiades, if I remember correctly. At any rate, there are a lot of Asian stores and restaurants in the southeastern part of the 13th, between Olympiades and the Porte d’Ivry, and PJ and I had gone into the area to check out the foods in stores like Tang Frères. I had tried cooking them into a hummus-like dip at one point, found it was pretty icky to do so (I was doing one of my “let’s make this up as we go” kind of things by looking up “how to cook lentils” on the Internet and then going from there), and when we returned from Canada and the cupboards were fairly bare, and my tummy was hungry and we were too jet lagged to do any decent shopping, I thought, “I think I read something online about making pancakes out of lentils and rice…”

Sure enough, I Googled and discovered many a recipe for Lentil and Rice Pancakes.

Here is the recipe I used: South Indian Lentil Pancakes (Adai) at this link —–> http://heart.kumu.org/adai.html

This is the recipe, copied in full from the web page at the Healing Heart Foundation. This recipe is copyrighted material by Dr. Dr. Neal Pinckney (2004), so if you decide to copy this to your own site, please observe polite ‘netiquette and cite your sources.

1 C mixed lentils (red, brown, green, etc.)
2 C brown rice
1/2 t salt (optional)
The night before, wash and rinse the lentils thoroughly. When the rinse water runs clear, soak the lentils and rice together in a bowl with fresh water overnight. The next day, drain and grind into a semi-coarse paste in a blender adding water as needed.. Put the batter into a bowl, add salt, cover and let sit a few hours. This can be blended in the morning and will be ready to cook for dinner. For a sourdough flavor, let it ferment overnight.
Drop a ladleful of the batter in the center of a non-stick pan that is hot enough to make a drop of water dance. Push down in the center with a large spoon to make a thin, round pancake. When the top looks dry, wait 20-40 seconds more, turn and cook the other side. Serve immediately with a chutney (see the recipe for Cilantro Chutney). The batter can be refrigerated for about a week.
Add additional ingredients for variety. Try any combination of finely chopped onions, jalapenos, spinach, ginger, cumin seeds, garlic, curry powder, cinnamon or other favorite spices.
4 servings, each: Calories 445, Fat 2.3 g (5% cff), Carbohydrate 89.95 g, Protein 15.29g

1 C mixed lentils (red, brown, green, etc.)

2 C brown rice

1/2 t salt (optional)

The night before, wash and rinse the lentils thoroughly. When the rinse water runs clear, soak the lentils and rice together in a bowl with fresh water overnight. The next day, drain and grind into a semi-coarse paste in a blender adding water as needed. Put the batter into a bowl, add salt, cover and let sit a few hours. This can be blended in the morning and will be ready to cook for dinner. For a sourdough flavor, let it ferment overnight.

Drop a ladleful of the batter in the center of a non-stick pan that is hot enough to make a drop of water dance. Push down in the center with a large spoon to make a thin, round pancake. When the top looks dry, wait 20-40 seconds more, turn and cook the other side. Serve immediately with a chutney (see the recipe for Cilantro Chutney [at the main recipes link associated with the original webpage]). The batter can be refrigerated for about a week.

Add additional ingredients for variety. Try any combination of finely chopped onions, jalapenos, spinach, ginger, cumin seeds, garlic, curry powder, cinnamon or other favorite spices.

4 servings, each: Calories 445, Fat 2.3 g (5% cff), Carbohydrate 89.95 g, Protein 15.29g

This recipe seemed to be the easiest, most adaptable one I saw online for Dosas, or Adai, Indian rice and lentil pancakes. There is another version of this one at My Recipes.com here: Dosas. (And while just now looking up information on Dosas and Adai, I found this link on YouTube here: Adai – Lentil Crèpes. Looks like a fun variation I may have to try next!) Another note: this is a vegetarian/vegan recipe for those looking for healthy gluten-free and vegan options!

I just used the Chana Dal yellow lentils and no others. I soaked the lentils (with the rice) overnight first as the recipe said to do, and then rinsed both well the next day. I have read about the need to do this with Chana Dal to remove the oily coating that is on them; Google it for yourself if you are curious about them/it! I don’t know if these are the “right” kind of lentils to use for Dosas, but they worked for me and tasted pretty good! I followed the above to a “T,” soaking times and all. The only difference is that I used white rice as I was totally out of brown rice at the time I made these. I used my little crèpe pan I bought in a small goods store here in my neighborhood (the 19th arr.), and I adored the addition of cinnamon to these pancakes! They are more savory than sweet, but for this low-sugar girl, with the cinnamon, this was as close to a real pancake as I had had in MONTHS and I found them very yummy! From the photo below, you can see instead of a food processor or blender, I used a stick/immersion blender with the container that comes with it to make my batter.
2009 09 - September - lentil pancakes

Mmmmm! Cinnamon!

2009 09 - September - lentil pancakes

I topped mine with almond butter and shredded coconut.

These tasted best hot right off the pan, but I did refrigerate some of them and re-heated them on the stove in the crèpe pan (we don’t have a microwave here in our apartment).

Let me know if you try these out! Bon appétit!

Categories: Gluten-Free Recipes, Personal Life | Tags: , , , , ,

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Lentil and Rice Pancakes

  1. Yum, Karin. That looks so tasty. I will definitely be making these.

    And since when do you have a blog?

    • pariskarin

      WENDY GAY!!! Hi! OMG, it is so cool to see you here. I have had a blog here since, hmmm, without looking at the archives, I think it was at the end of June or beginning of July. After my son Sam visited me here in Paris, I decided I needed to get more of a life here. This is the way I have chosen to do it: to blog about the things I see and do in the city, which are pretty simple, and often free (lol), but with the slant of what it is like to be gluten intolerant.

      How did you find this? Oh man it is good to see you, and I am going to stick your blog addy into Google Reader *right now*.

      Much love and light to you!

  2. Great idea to write about! I found you through Flickr since you had a link to this on the pictures. Thanks for stopping by mine, and I will definitely be back to visit. 🙂

  3. Pingback: On Cabbage and Tea « An Alien Parisienne

Blog at WordPress.com.

