Short Blog Today

DSCN9426

Gravesite of Frédéric Chopin, Père Lachaise Cemetery, Paris, France

Longer blog tomorrow!

I just had the best time talking on the phone to Karen, who commented on my blog a few blogs ago.

We have decided to meet this Wednesday to go on a walking adventure from the Buttes Chaumont to Père Lachaise Cemetery to see Frédéric, Jim, and Oscar! I will also take her to see Mr. Léopold Fucker (pronounced “Foo-kay” in French,  just so’s you know) if she is up for it.

No, I am not making that up:

DSCN9497

See? Dani and Minnie saw him, too, when they were here. But, he was serendipitously discovered almost one year ago by Michelle Mabelle and me.

DSCN1530

The lovely Miss Mabelle

Doesn’t she remind you of the lovely Audrey Hepburn in a movie like “Charade” here? Miss Mabelle is a gorgeous human being, outside and in, through and through.


DSCN1618

The photo of the first time Miss Mabelle and I happened on Mr. Fucker.

So, stay tuned for the blog I started today, but will finish tomorrow! Then on Wednesday, an adventure (I am SO excited!) and a full report after that.

Until then, don’t do anything I would not do.

Live long and prosper.

Categories: Life in Paris, Paris Adventures | Tags: , , , , ,

Post navigation

19 thoughts on “Short Blog Today

  1. Jeff

    Do you think Leopold’s mom was known as Mother Fucker?

    (I guess that only makes sense ‘en Anglais’, but it’s still making me laugh!

    Have fun and say hi to Mr. Mojo Risin’ for me.

    Later!
    Jeff

    • pariskarin

      Oh the jokes just so abound with Good Old Léopold’s last name!! The permutations are all hilarious. 😀 Will give the Lizard King your regards, for sure. Thanks for stopping by, Jeff!

  2. Lauri

    LOL! I love the Leopold Fucker photos and comments. I missed his grave when I visited the cemetery on my last trip to Paris. The people I most wanted to visit at Père Lachaise were Jim Morrison (of course), Chopin, Gertrude Stein, Alice B. Toklas, and Sarah Bernhardt. I like to claim that I am related to Sarah (I am not) because she has the same name as my grandfather’s sister.

    I *LOVE* that picture of Miss Mabelle! And Dani and Melinda (umm, Minnie) are too cute for words.

    I hope you have a wonderful walking trip. I look forward to hearing (and seeing) all about it.

    • pariskarin

      Léopold is in a tucked away corner of the Columbarium. I can take you right there if you ever want to see him. When you visit. *grin* I also heart Sarah. My mother used to call me, in my more dramatic young childhood moments, Sarah Berhardt, so I have always felt a kind of kinship to her, too. 🙂

      Is that not the most terrific photo of the Divine Miss M? The other girlies are cute, too, indeed!

      Thanks for the well-wishes on the trip. I am very much looking forward to it!

  3. Shel

    Hahahaha My old friend Leopold!! I had wondered how he be! 🙂

    Yay on getting out and meeting new Karens! I love meeting Karens! (but I heart meeting Karins too. :))

    • pariskarin

      Karens (and Karins) are Kool.

      Yes, your old friend Léopold. I really do think that was one of the more serendipitously gleeful moments in my whole entire life, and I am glad you were there to have that moment with me!! He seems like he is pretty much the same: dead. HA! 😀

      • Pocketful of Shells

        He’s such a Fucker.

        My favorite was the fact that we were hysterically laughing when that family came out for the “funeral?”

        They must have thought we were world-class assholes. LOL

      • pariskarin

        Hee hee hee! That he is. I think it is just so FUNNY how we laughed! If it were that family in the same sitch, reversed, then I am sure they would have laughed, too. Oh that Mr. Fucker. He just screws things up, doesn’t he, lol.

  4. Lila

    As a student of architecture it was an obligatory trip and visit to the Paris Cemetery…and I’ve never seen anything like it in any other city!!!!

    • pariskarin

      Hello, Lila!! 🙂 Thank you for coming by! It’s a very unique park/cemetery, for certain. The thing that gets me is its sheer size. It is huge. It is almost like a city within a city, too. I have made it to Cimitière Montmartre, which is similar but much smaller, and have yet to go to Cimitière Montparnasse which houses the graves of de Beauvoir and JP Sartre. Soon, I hope. I still think Père Lachaise is my favorite.

  5. aimee maher

    Don’t get Murdered.

    Kidding.

    *Waves at new Karen*

    • pariskarin

      You know what they say about cemeteries being places folks are dying to get into. Haha. Karen sounds very nice, as all the Karens and Karins I have ever met have been, so I don’t think I need to worry about her offing me in a cemetery, hee hee! (I’m pretty sure she has a sense of humor, too, and this comment may test that, heh!)

      I know that’s not what you meant, but I was trying to be cute and go with your theme. 😀

  6. ken

    I’d rather be called Fucker than Foo-kay, Foo-kay sound so, so, Oscar Wilde.

    • pariskarin

      Ugh. It helps to be logged in when one replies to comments. I just lost two replies, not realizing I was not logged in!!

      Foo-kay does sound a bit Oscar ;-). Did you ever see the British comedy shown on PBS in the States called “Keeping Up Appearances”? One of the central jokes was around a character named Mrs. Bucket who insisted on being called “Mrs. Boo-kay.” It was a cute show, in a British upper-middle class kind of way. Actually, it’s premise was to make jokes around the British class system/culture.

      • Ken

        It plays on tuesdays. Haven’t sat though an episode. It is back to back with Waiting for God, another brit sitcom about the older set.

      • pariskarin

        Yeahhhhh, you kind of have to be in a certain mindset to sit through an epi. I certainly have to channel a very British somewhat older persona to be able to sit through one. But it can be pretty cute. In an “only a middle-aged woman could enjoy this show” kind of way, lol.

  7. Karen

    Bonjour Karin and friends of Karin! All of your comments are hilarious and thanks for the welcome waves 🙂 Yay for our walking adventure in the Parc des Buttes-Chaumont and the famous Père-Lachaise Cemetery! That was a great preview in photographs btw. Guess I will be following in the footsteps of the famous Dani, Minnie and Michelle (who yes, really does look like Audrey Hepburn) to visit with the a-wee-bit-more-famous Jim, Oscar, Alice, Gertrude, Sarah and Frédéric (maybe Edith if there’s time?) And of course after that introduction, how could I NOT want to meet Léopold? (Geez, all I can say is that he’s lucky he lived in France…) I’ll be sure to bring my camera, but will leave the axe at home (especially if it’s a sunny day, as that would totally spoil the effect of offing someone in a cemetery) 🙂 I used to watch “Keeping Up Appearances” on PBS with my Mom. Oh that Hyacinth “Boo-kay” (always felt that Richard was a saint for putting up with her!)

    • pariskarin

      I am looking forward to it!! Yes, I know where Edith is, too. She is not far from Modigliani. Thanks for leaving the axe at home, lol. I am glad someone else knows who Mrs. “Boo-kay” is! Hyacinth! That’s right! Her first name. That show was so silly! SEE YOU MAÑANA! I mean, à demain. 😀

  8. Pingback: I Am… « An Alien Parisienne

Blog at WordPress.com.

