Happy Earth Day!

Surprise!

It’s an unexpected post from me. Thank you to all who read and commented on the previous post. I thought I would squeeze one more in before the fMIL gets here. I just got a phone call from the fMIL, who has just left for the airport. Her flight is on schedule and she was pre-boarded online, so it’s looking like she’ll have no problems getting here. I’ll try to check  in this next week with comments and so on, but this will be “it” for a few days, until we’re back to the usual here in the Alien Parisienne household.

Today I decided out-of-the-blue (I needed a break from all the cleaning — thanks, Reader Carole for reminding me that I have some cool places to go after doing mundane chores) to go out and take a walk in the Parc des Buttes Chaumont here in the 19th arrondissement. I took so many pretty photos and it was such a lovely time, I thought I would come back home and post a few of the prettier ones to share with you. The entire set is here on Flickr.

Happy Earth Day today!

I am terrible with names of flowers, but “pansy” springs to mind with this one.

DSCN2257

A little yellow…

DSCN2260

This is the belvedère copied from the ancient Roman temple of Sybil in Tivoli, Italy (Wiki).

DSCN2269

People were out enjoying the wonderful weather…

DSCN2274

… sitting on the grass, picknicking, walking.

DSCN2278

I saw these beautiful blooms on a thorned tree. Dogwood? Something else? Someone who is bontanically in-the-know  can help  me out.

DSCN2283

Hundreds of people were relaxing on the grass on this gorgeous day.

DSCN2291

More of the belvedère, close up.

DSCN2292

The view from on high (looking to the north).

DSCN2294

Off in the distance is the Basilique du Sacré-Cœur (in the 18th, Montmartre).

DSCN2296

These flowers made a golden trail.

DSCN2302

There are traditional Parisian lampposts in the park as there are all around Paris.

DSCN2310

People were napping, kissing, resting, and soaking up the sunshine. It is still not really warm enough for sunbathing, though ( 15° C / 59° F. It is still brisk even though the sun is out).

DSCN2312

More of the belvedère. This is an entirely man-made park, even the “lake” was constructed in what was formerly a limestone quarry.

DSCN2318

It was a wonderful afternoon for capturing light and shadow.

DSCN2331

So, so pretty!

DSCN2339

Like cotton candy…

DSCN2340

DSCN2348

I liked the curving path in this view.

DSCN2349

So many gorgeous spring colors were in the flower beds.

DSCN2355

This is the Mairie XIXeme — the town hall for the 19th arrondissement, at the base of the park.

DSCN2360

I hope you all enjoyed this walk in the park with me.

See you all again very soon!

Karin

An Alien Parisienne

Categories: Paris Adventures, Paris Beauty | Tags: , , ,

Post navigation

34 thoughts on “Happy Earth Day!

  1. Happy Earth day everyone.

  2. Lauri

    Karin – I love your photos. Beautiful, as always!

  3. The photos are lovely! I saw this park mentioned on a show I was watching recently and had added it to my “see next time” list. Thank you for sharing, because I will likely not see it in bloom like this as I tend to visit in cooler months.

    Enjoy FMIL’s visit!

    • Hi Armchair Parisian! This is a fun park in the winter, too. Colder, and different, but still charming. Definitely worth a visit, any time of year.

      FMIL got here safe and sound, and we are having a really wonderful time so far. Yay!! 🙂

  4. I’ll say it too…the photos are lovely….just a quick skim so far but beautiful..

    enjoy your visit with the MIL..

    talk soon!

  5. Nice to meet you ~ I look forward to coming back and reading more. Have a wonderful break with your guest.

  6. Amy

    All those people sunning themselves reminds me of parks on a sunny day in Seattle. What a gorgeous spring.

    • Seattle is one of my all-time favorite cities on the planet, and yes, I can see the commonalities in that folks in Seattle seem to enjoy outdoor spaces a lot, too. Indeed! A very gorgeous spring. I am really grateful to be in a place like Paris in the springtime. What the song says is true!

      Thanks for commenting!

  7. Very nice job on the earth day story love the park photos and information well done Thank you

  8. Lovely! These are gorgeous photos. You have *again* made me miss the 19th! I think it’s funny that the whole park is artificial – feels so natural!

    By the way, you are total sweetness. I saw your link to my article on the 19th on DL. You’re awesome – thank you!

    Have a good time with the fMIL.

    Cheers,
    Sion

    • Come and visit the park soon! We can meet up there for a little walk or picnic if you like. Remind you of how good the ‘hood used to be, eh? 😉

      You are SO welcome for the DL link. I loved the article you wrote and thought others should see it, too. 🙂

      Catch you later, Sion!

  9. Aaaaahhhhhh thank you SO MUCH for this walk in Buttes Chaumont – spectacular photos and just adore this post. Stunning!

    I was interested in Sion’s comment about the park being artificial — we were struck by that on an autumn visit — I’ll include a link below — especially the fences that look like wood but Clive discovered are actually concrete!

    What a perfect post for Earth Day — loved all the photos including the one of the people dotting the hill, and all the flowers, and the mairie of the 19th — didn’t realise that was there too.

    Thanks again for sharing this special part of Paris – your Paris! – here.

    My post is at
    http://mysydneyparislife.wordpress.com/2008/11/09/autumn-in-parc-des-buttes-chaumont-paris/

    Cheers from Sydney and have a good visit with your fMIL (future MIL?).

    • You’re welcome, Carolyn!

      My friend who visited in December 2008 likes to call it the “Disneyland Park” because everything is that kind of “real-looking” fake. You know, like the Swiss Family Robinson tree house, or some of the other fun places at the Magical Kingdom. It’s true: even the fences that look like they are made of wood = FAKE. It’s such a pretty park for being all man-made, though. It’s well done.

      Yup — fMIL is the future MIL. 🙂 She got here safe and sound, and we have been having a lovely afternoon so far. She’s taking a quick nap right now, which is why I am checking in. 🙂

      Thanks for adding your link here! I’ll be by as soon as I can!

      Take care & thanks for dropping by.

  10. You have a wonderful “natural” eye, I’d love to be able to fly you around to several locations just to see the scenes you could capture there.

    • Thank you, Ken. Oh man. I would LOVE to fly different places just to photograph them. Dream job = National Geographic writer and photographer. 🙂

      I would want the pro camera to go with the job, though. Just sayin’. 😉

      Take care!

  11. *gasp* The photos are fantabulous! I can’t wait to catch up with you this weekend here and on Flickr! COOL SHOTS, Karin!

    • Thanks, Kerri!! That means a lot coming from a person whose photographic and graphic work I admire. 🙂 I’ll keep an eye out for you on Flickr. 🙂

  12. Happy belated Earth Day! Love the photos, they’re great, as Ken says “you have a wonderful natural eye”.

    What a lovely place to escape the housework hey? I’ve never been to the park but it looks lovely – a notch above some of the parks we have here in Lyon!

    Enjoy the weekend.

    • Come and visit and we shall go, all right? It’s a great park for a picnic with some wine. 🙂 I’ll show you all around the ‘hood, in fact. Seriously. I am counting on it one of these days.

      Take care & you enjoy your weekend, too, Piglet!

  13. Shels Bells

    Oooh Oooh!!! So jonesin’ for some of that flower action! 🙂

    These shots are lovely- I must comment individually *heading to flickr*

  14. Carole

    Karin! The photos are fabulous! What a glorious sight. Happy (late) Earth Day to you.

  15. All right, you’ve convinced me. I’ve got to get to that park. I can’t believe I’ve never been! Beautiful photos.

    And yeah for the Seattle shout-out! I’ll add my voice to that one.

    • Yes!! Get thee and thy fam to this park, for sure. There are a couple of wonderful kids’ playgrounds up at the top end of the park (one up close to the southeast corner called the “Pirates de XIXeme” looks like a lot of fun). This is a great time of year to be there and your kids will love it. 🙂

  16. Eli

    Thanks for the lovely photos (and yes they are pansies). Only been there once and I was so terrified of the climbing required that my photos are restricted to near the metro! (I ‘don’t do up’ as I have an insane fear of the coming down! Think it started when I was around 10 and was pushed down the escalator at Carnaby Street in London and broke both my legs – to this day I avoid escalators – I will travel to fnac on Champs elysees rather than brave the one at Gare St Lazare which is nearer my usual hotel)

    Eli
    x

    • Thanks for the lovely photos (and yes they are pansies)

      Thank you so much, and yay! I was right: pansies. My fMIL thinks that the white flowers on the trees are Spanish olive, not Dogwood, BTW.

      I can understand given your experiences how coming down must be a challenge, for sure. I can relate in that I used to climb Colorado’s peaks above 14,000 feet (about 3,500 m) and coming down was TORTURE. I took some spills, ass over teakettle, a couple of times and after that could not go up again. It’s hard on the knees, too. So I am glad that my photos could help you feel you were there, however. 🙂

      Thanks for coming by, Eli! I appreciate it!

  17. Hi karin,
    started a WordPress blog. For more serious stuff. mikemackrill is my username.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

