Giving Something a Try

La Nuit Blanche, Saturday 2 October, 2010 — Parc de Belleville — Mon Repos aux Tuileries by Claude Lévêque

I’ve seen others use Posterous to post blogs, media (such as photos), and other information. I did not ever create an account before, though, as I felt I had too many already! But with the capability to cross-post to multiple places like Twitter, and Facebook, and so on at the click of one button, I am seeing the usefulness of having a place to do just that, and Posterous is it (thank you, Mr. Ashton Kutcher for the suggestion — yes, I am connected to him on FB and Twitter, too, haha! And Mrs. Kutcher, too).

I’ve had a lot going on, as my previous blog on An Alien Parisienne attests. I was thinking that doing some posts through Posterous might be one way to go ahead and keep the ball rolling at An Alien Parisienne without having to take so much time to post. This does not mean I won’t post chapters of books (lol) on AAP, just that in the interim, until I can find my groove with life and computers and blogs and social networking, something important to my life right now, doing it this way may be a solution.

I also wanted to come on to the blog to say I have some decisions waiting for me regarding the information I posted on in the prior blog. I’m having great reservations about continuing as I have with the commissioned work I was given. I’ve completed about 10-20% of the work, but don’t know if our motherboard nor my emotional state and Paul’s and my relationship can handle more. The thing is, not doing more also means deferring the dream of being a multi-computer family, something we really need. There’s a lot weighing in the balance, and I have to figure out what I am going to do, STAT.

It’s 7:30 am. Mr. Paul’s alarm just went off. I’ve been working on emails and other stuff for the past couple of hours. In just a couple of more hours, I am going to decide what to do.

I’ll keep you posted — through WordPress, Posterous, or both. Or Facebook. Or Twitter.

What a crazy online world it is!

Be well & remember, the road to hell is paved with good intentions and unbought stuffed dogs.

Au revior, mes canards.

Categories: Blogging, Personal Life | Tags: , , , ,

Post navigation

30 thoughts on “Giving Something a Try

  1. “Au revior, mes canards” – You know, I’ve never been called that before?

    I’m sure it’ll all work out PC wise – worst comes to the worst you could get a decommissioned desktop (about 50euros), bung Linux on it and you’d be away? Possibly be better quality anyway (being ex-corporate) than a new machine?

    All the best

    Keith

  2. I am a bit confused 😦 … also Karin , are you saying you were up at 5.30 am doing stuff on the computer ..? I will come back and see what you are going to do ..and Yes you do need to be a multi computer family … 🙂

  3. Hi Guys!

    I realized I forgot to link in my Posterous account up there, which might make things more clear, Anne. I signed up on Posterous, which has multiple posting capabilities. One simple press of a button, and everything gets posted everywhere. It’s a great replacement for TwitPic, and for a bunch of other accounts like that, too. Everything feels very “centralized” there.

    Keith — I wrote somewhere (maybe in a comment on the previous blog?) that in the movie “Eat Pray Love,” “See you later, alligator” was translated “au revoir, les canards.” I also found a cute video of a little girl speaking in French who said just that: “au revoir, les canards.” Very cute. Anyway, I can’t find the video now, but it was on Vimeo, I think. I’ll look later.

    Not a bad idea about a decommissioned desktop with Linux. Hmmmmmm, food for thought, food for thought! Thank you.

    Anne — yes, since getting the project and writing the first 10-20%, I have been having to get up at about 5 am to start the computer (that takes 15-20 minutes before it is up and running), work on answering emails and reading updates on Facebook for an hour or two, get a shower, and then start in on the project work, going from about 8 am – 5 pm straight on it, with a one hour break mid-morning to talk to my friend in Antibes and do some housework, like dishes, or cleaning the bathroom while I talk (phone crooked in neck, which gets a little painful at times, lol). If I have babysitting, I have to leave the house at 4 pm or 1 pm on Wednesdays.

    Paul then takes over on the computer at 6 or so pm and works until about midnight (although some late-starts at work meant that he could be up until 2 am if he wanted, up until this week when his schedule started more full-time, permanently — no more late starts to his morning, except Wednesdays).

    We are those proverbial ships, passing in the night. I go to bed at about 9-10 pm, just as he is at his peak of work. We visit in the mornings for about 30 mn, and in the evenings for about 20. He graciously lets me interrupt his writing/thinking, though from 7-9 pm, after I get home from babysitting. And we take in a movie about once a week together. Weekends are spent with his kids as they are with us from Friday night to Sunday afternoon at about 3 pm.

    It reminds me of what the “working world” can be, and how unfriendly it is to family life. I was just talking to Paul about this this morning, as I am really wavering on whether to continue the project or not…

    There are a lot of pros and cons to the whole thing. I have to get it sorted out in my head soon.

  4. Karin, as I said to you before…don’t give up on your project!

    You’ve got this amazing talent at perceiving things and translating them into words or at capturing them in your photos… and as all genuine creative people, you doubt!

    Never ever rush in making big decisions… what seems right today can prove absolutely inadequate the following day.

    As you know, life is a big wheel of fortune … each morning we start again at square one, and that’s the beauty of it… the good days may not last forever but the bad don’t either!

    Everything is in perpetual motion, including us!

    You have to sleep on it (a bit longer)… tomorrow is a new day (sorry if it’s a bit cliché but it reflects what I want tell you!)

    Take care

  5. Pardon me for a moment; I am going to test something out:
    DSCN9897

  6. Okay cool. That worked. 🙂 Now, on to a reply…

    DeeBee — Thank you for your comment! It was very encouraging, but maybe not for the reasons you thought, lol.

    After a good, long, many conversations with my best friend, as she has been listening to me for the past month about this whole thing, and after an argument and discussion this past weekend with Paul over what this past month has done to me emotionally and mentally, and speaking with him more this morning, too, I have sent an email stating that I am not going to do any more work for the tours company, and it was actually based on these reasons that you wrote, DeeBee:

    You’ve got this amazing talent at perceiving things and translating them into words or at capturing them in your photos… and as all genuine creative people, you doubt!

    Excuse me if it seems like I am tooting my own horn, something a person like me with generally low-self esteem has trouble doing without feeling like a complete hoser and lots of guilt for doing it, but I completely agree. 😉

    And what the company was offering was highway robbery for the work (at least as I had been doing it… which was very conscientiously). Internet development sweatshop wages for someone whose research and writing is worth more. The money is good for someone who wants and needs that kind of thing, and who can manage perhaps to work more effectively than I could. I’ve just decided I don’t want and need it. Not *that* badly.

    I figured out that in the past month, I had put in over 75 hours (as a conservative estimate as I made the mistake of not actually writing down how much time I had spent working — but in general, on average 15-18 hours a week, minimum) on the project. With what I was being offered for the first segment, it worked out to be less than 3 € 50 per hour for that work. Granted, there was a learning curve involved, and I might have required less time in developing the content for the subsequent work, so I might have averaged better, but I have decided at this point my writing and talents and time and effort are worth more than that.

    What clinched my decision (which I have been mulling over for almost two weeks, so it’s not an overnight decision), was this right here:

    As you know, life is a big wheel of fortune … each morning we start again at square one, and that’s the beauty of it…

    I do, I do!!

    When I read that up there, I said to myself, “wheel of fortune, wheel of fortune…” and I had an insight. Let’s see what the Tarot has to say about it.

    Now, lest you get all freaky over woo-woo shit like Tarot, let me state that I appreciate Tarot as a tool for self-insight, for a kind of psychological and archetypal interpretive exercise at tapping into our true feelings about something, NOT as a way to predict the future or tell us what to do, etc. in a blind faith kind of way. I use it to find out what I am really feeling inside. I’m into it in that way.

    I got out my deck, and laughed/cried at what came up (although it was in the reversed position):
    8 of swords
    (the image is taken from this site here: http://www.tarotteachings.com/eight-of-swords.html)

    I read up here, here, and here on the meaning (although this is a card I have seen again and again) and realized this (which comes from the last link there):

    No matter how difficult your situation, the Eight of Swords shows that there are always options and ways to escape. You may not think they are plausible, and you may not even know they exist, but they are there waiting for you to put them to use. The key is to stop using the Swords for negative purposes. Anger, agression, haste and excessive force will only make your situation worse, so let them go and accept the mental clarity and peace that the Swords suit idealizes. With that new and perfect vision you should be able to see the way out of every problem that you encounter.

    I love it when Tarot does that for a person. 🙂

    So. I have set myself free of the situation. No contracts were signed, no actual work submitted, so I have retained everything I have done so far, unless they want to negotiate for it. I am out 75-80 hours, and maybe stressed a whole lot for nothing, but at least I got the lesson that sometimes we have to be wise and JUST SAY NO, especially when something looks attractive on the surface, but then keeps getting mired down into something less and less attractive as time goes on.

    I’m not saying it might not be something for someone else, but at this time, it is not for me. I will get a laptop some other way. Just not this way.

    So. Onward. I think what this means is that I get to do NaNoWriMo in November. 🙂 That gives me a big happy!! This time I would like to take an actual stab at fiction writing instead of filling up this blog with stuff and nonsense. 🙂

    • (I love it when I blog in my comments, lol. I am sure there are some out there that are disgusted to no end with “blomments” but I live and breathe for them!!)

  7. HI Karin…remember that life is too short to be doing something that you know in your heart isn’t right…and it’s only money…and not alot at that by the sounds of things…it will all work out..your mental health is the most important thing

    you have the luxury of living in the world’s most beautiful city and the choice to do whatever you really want to do…with the support of Paul and your friends I know it will all work out..in the meantime..let it go..it was a lesson learned…

    moving on…..

    from grey toronto..will it ever stop raining?

    • Hey Deb —

      remember that life is too short to be doing something that you know in your heart isn’t right

      I’m trying to do just that. I was thinking about all of this in the aftermath, and after a *second* phone call to my best friend today (lol), that I also know I gave it more than a Girl Scout Try, as it used to be called in my family. I know that I gave it 100% effort, and indeed remembered in the process that life is indeed too short to be doing something I know is not right. 🙂 Thank you for writing it here so clearly, too.

      So. You are right. Moving on. *grin*

      Oh Deb — it is raining here, too, and gray. It’s just October is what it is. Think about it: Paris is actually more north of Toronto, latitudinally-speaking!! Winter is upon us northern hemisphere folk.

      I’m looking forward to reading the posts I see you have made!! See you there, Deb.

  8. Dianne

    3.50E is not worth this unless you are doing the project for the experience and this will lead to bigger and better jobs. You really need a second laptop no doubt about it. I have reinvented myself as a nanny and a organizer lately to help with bills..the beauty of the pioneer spirit I guess..helping worn out mothers with trashed houses and out of control children. I arrive with the nanny bag filled with an apron, disposable gloves. dish towels, and a look of authority to calm the situation of screaming infants and terrible 2s! This replaced the insanity of nursing care in an era of having more and more responsibility for sicker and sicker patients with less staff…I know you can rise above and refocus so hang in there. .and know you can always recreate yourself.

    • Hi Dianne!

      You know, at 42 and with a MA in Education, you remind me of something: I really don’t need the experience, either, hahahahaha! In fact, one of the reasons I took on the task is because I had done something similar 10 years ago in web design.

      I really, really like the way you reinvented yourself! You sound like Supernanny. 😉 Who cleans. Supercleaningnanny! Super Woman. Good on you for this re-creation in your life. It’s true: we can figure these things out. I’m doing childcare and housecleaning now, too, and for a lot more money than I was getting with this writing job for the time given.

      Maybe I need to ask French Mom if she knows of any other families who want their house cleaned… Hmmmmmmm…

      Thank you for your inspiring comments.

  9. Good for you, Karin! I think you’ve made the right decision! I know the conventional wisdom is to champion perseverance, but I think that should be amended to perseverance in the pursuit of our *dreams*. Sure, reality really catches up with sometimes and we have to do what we have to do – but slaving away at something that is bringing you no satisfaction and isn’t giving you what you’re putting in just isn’t worth it. I just gave up a gig this week, too! Not at all as difficult at yours. But I really wanted to spend more time on my creative work. GULP! Do I really think what I write will be any good?

    Not the point. Because I just felt that I needed to give myself a chance to do what I *want* to be doing, not what I *think* I should be doing. You started that YA novel – so go back to it and see what happens! You’re never going to say to yourself 20 years from now, boy, I really wish I had finished that tour project. You will, however, say, boy, I really wish I had given that novel a shot.

    Go get ’em!

    • Thank you, Sion. I think I made the right decision, too. I wish I could have realized it a bit sooner, but then I think I really needed the lesson of the past month to remind myself of what I *don’t* want life to be as much as knowing what it is that I *do* want. So, it’s all good lessons learned, for sure.

      I know the conventional wisdom is to champion perseverance, but I think that should be amended to perseverance in the pursuit of our *dreams*. Sure, reality really catches up with sometimes and we have to do what we have to do – but slaving away at something that is bringing you no satisfaction and isn’t giving you what you’re putting in just isn’t worth it.

      Those are very wise words. What it makes me think is that I really need to gear up for NaNoWriMo even more, and use the time I was waking up early to work on those novel ideas I had. 🙂 And troll the ‘net for other employment opportunities, too (in fact, I just researched one out this afternoon. I don’t think it is going to pan out — I have to be a resident of the UK to do it, lol — but I did have one of those serendipitous moments of “Hey! Maybe I should check out X!” and it was because of a Twitter post, haha! So you never know what’s going to happen and what’s going to grab ya, do you).

      I needed to give myself a chance to do what I *want* to be doing, not what I *think* I should be doing.

      This is exactly the place my thoughts went to this morning, and as I was continuing to argue with myself as I debated that inner critic who kept lobbing the “shoulds” at my head. I finally told her to “fuck off” — hehehehe!

      Thank you for the reminder about this:

      You’re never going to say to yourself 20 years from now, boy, I really wish I had finished that tour project. You will, however, say, boy, I really wish I had given that novel a shot.

      True, true, true. Thanks for helping support and confirm what my gut has been screaming at me to figure out. 🙂

  10. Hi Karin,
    Sorry, but I had dropped back into ‘lurkdom” for a little while, but wanted to tell you that I always love reading your posts about Paris and your personal journey, in fact, I look forward to it. In the past, I wanted to comment many times — then I let time get the better of me. Just wanted to let you know, that I feel that the answer to any situation is always: Stay in the NOW and follow your bliss. Any decision made in the past, finds you in the present moment, and what you do in the present moment defines your future. All you ever have is the NOW, the present moment in time. So each moment is a fabulous gift, for it allows for continued corrected viewpoint and the freedom of change. Go for it girl, Love your writing. GO FOR YOUR BLISS and trust your innermost voice.
    Inge

    • Hi Inge! It is so nice that you came out of lurkdom to leave such a nice comment. Thank you. 🙂 I’m really glad to know that reading the posts is something you love. I know I really like the exchange that happens on a blog, and so I am happy you have taken the time today to write the things you did.

      GO FOR YOUR BLISS and trust your innermost voice.

      Okeedokee. I’ve heard the universe loud and clear this time, and I will stay in the present moment. I have a feeling by making this choice in the end that I will be grateful for it! Thank you for your encouragement to those ends.

      Happy baking to you, Inge. I need to pop over and see what you have been cooking up. 🙂
      Be well!

  11. This is very cool Karin I like the way it connects all acc. together nice have a peace full week my friend peace be with you Eric

    • Hi Eric! It is nice to see you here again! I’m always glad when you drop by. Posterous does seem to be pretty cool the way it can connect things together. We’ll see how it goes and if it provides a way to continue the creativity.

      Take care! You have a peaceful week, too. 🙂

  12. Karin! Wow. Big decision made and I’m happy to hear it. You know Karin and you know Paul and you know what Karin and Paul can handle together — seems like this crazy project was pushing it a little too far. Definitely not worth hurting a relationship for 3.50 an hour. I think the going rate for me ruining my relationship with Al is about 120 euros an hour, but I could be talked down to 100.

    Keep us posted. I’ll be interested to hear how you feel about Posterous, too.

    Bye!
    MJ

    • Hi MJ! Yup, it was a pretty big decision — hard to let go of the idea of the money at first, but when seen in a greater perspective of what I had to do to get it, well, I kind of felt like I was being asked to “bend over,” lol.

      I think the going rate for me ruining my relationship with Al is about 120 euros an hour, but I could be talked down to 100.

      Hee hee hee! Those are some pretty good guidelines, MJ.

      I will definitely keep you posted, literally, here, on Posterous, and all the other usual places. (I like it when I can use “literally” correctly like that. Paul and I both get a little annoyed when it’s just bandied about, and paired with the most un-literal of things.)

      Bye-Bye, Ms. MJ. I’ll be over to your place soon!

  13. Ashton Kutcher has made many geek lists due to his savvy eye for trends and new technology. One might have though the “missus” was the bread winner in the family, but I suspect that his sharp investments might outshine her royalties and these days their Hollywood clout is about equal.

    I think a lot of net frustration is being able to produce something substantially unique without taking from what is distributed about in the comments on other’s blogs, especially collected, those dialogues become substantial and important enough to be a blog on their own. One feels their esscence spread thin and often drained completely, creatively speaking.
    When one take that into account with several unique sites that we express ourselves on, no matter how casually or ernestly they were begun, often become millstones rather than modes of expression.

    My grandmother (mother’s side) was partial to porceline owls.

    • Hi Ken —

      Ashton Kutcher has made many geek lists due to his savvy eye for trends and new technology.

      It’s true! It’s actually why I follow him on FB and Twitter. I can get the heads up from him and Mrs. K, and he really is an early adopter of a lot of new techie stuff. He’s got savvy and clout in the geek world!

      …those dialogues become substantial and important enough to be a blog on their own.

      This is exactly why I pay attention to comments, something not every blogger does. I really feel that the post itself is only part of the entire experience — the comments enrich the exchange of ideas. So I don’t know if I can agree with the second part of what you say there, unless I am misunderstanding: I think there there is no dilution of the blog, no spreading thin, but rather a more complete picture of what is going on through the exchange. I guess I like it because it lines up with what I learned in grad school: language, writing, reading are all mediated by the people who are *transacting* with the written word. It is this transaction where more knowledge is created. Here: you can see more of what I mean in this Wiki article about the woman who coined the term — http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Louise_Rosenblatt

      And awwwww. I did not know that Louise passed on five years ago… But then I have kind of been out of the world of academia for a while.

      Sorry to go all egghead on you. You can take the teacher and academic out of academia, but you can’t take… oh you know how the rest goes (it was getting wordy).

      I also think nothing is wasted — in a response to this:

      When one take that into account with several unique sites that we express ourselves on, no matter how casually or ernestly they were begun, often become millstones rather than modes of expression.

      It’s all construction of thoughts, it’s all working out the creativity and using the mind. I view it something like exercise for the brain. So no matter how much I am tossing words about on the ‘net, unless they are something slanderous that will get me in hot water, or if I am not wise in what I write and something comes back to bite me in the butt, I don’t think the words are millstones.

      My grandmother (mother’s side) was partial to porceline owls.

      Okay, at first I was all “that’s a bit non-sequitur” and thinking “whatcha been smokin’, Ken?” and then I realized it connects to the unbought stuffed dogs. 🙂 (I think. Right?)

      I like owls. (lol)

      Take care, Ken.

  14. This job was not paid enough for the type of creative work they wanted. I think you were right to let it go. This way you will be free when the next door is opened. I enjoyed reading your little post and then all the comments. Be happy, that is more important than anything else.

    • Hi there, Vagabonde. I agree, and I am really hoping for this:

      This way you will be free when the next door is opened.

      I know we have to be willing to close one door before another can open. I’m crossing my fingers. 🙂 I am glad you enjoyed the post — another is soon on its way!

      Here are happy wishes for you, too.

  15. Carole

    How nice to have options. Although sometimes it can feel overwhelming. Never heard of Posterous before. Once again I’ve learned something new from you and your blog. When do you start your Ghetto Paris Living tours? I volunteer to be a guinea pig! 😉

    • Hi Carole!

      When do you start your Ghetto Paris Living tours? I volunteer to be a guinea pig!

      Now there’s an idea! 🙂 I’ll start mulling on it.

      I’m going to do another ghetto post, though. It’s coming up soon (I have started on it already.)

      Glad to share about Posterous, and yes, options are *always* good. Here’s to more options arriving soon!

  16. Pingback: Ghetto Living in Paris — Part Three « An Alien Parisienne

  17. Pingback: Special Report: Discover Paris!™ « An Alien Parisienne

  18. Honey

    Bon soir Pairs Kiren,
    I just discovered your lovely little blog. I would love to live in the French country side. My boyfriend and I are planning to begin to learn French in the fall. I wanted to know how difficult is it to maintain a gluten free diet in Paris? I am on a gluten/wheat free diet and it makes traveling quite difficult. I’d love to hear your thoughts.
    Merci,
    Honey

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

