Chloe Lodge Photography: Musings With Light

Greetings!

Those of you who blog and/or write may have had the following experience:

You have many things in mind about which you would like to write, some of which you have been intending to write for a long while, and that first sentence is one which causes you to get hung up because it is just so damn hard to find the right (write?) way to begin.

There.

I got that out of the way. Nothing like just jumping in, is there? Beginning this post after not having written for this blog for a while has been causing me to stall, choking like a tiny Cessna in mid-air, losing altitude (or in this case, my writing wings). But I can feel the sputters of the engine as it ignites, comes to full power, and once more, I’m flying.

Welcome back, readers.

What I have been intending to write about since around the end of March has been a post about photographer Chloe Lodge, whom I have had the great pleasure of getting to know as she has been studying for her Masters in Photography at the Spéos Photographic Institute here in Paris, France.

To learn more about this talented photographer, please keep reading!

Chloe Lodge - photo by me, Karin Lynn Bates (2011)

How Did I Meet Chloe?

I was introduced to Chloe by MJ of An American Mom in Paris. Chloe contacted MJ and made her the subject of a photographic project entitled “Virtually Connected,” a photo-documentary featuring MJ as an expatriate mother living in Paris. MJ said that Chloe was looking for other expatriate women to interview and photograph for what turned into a portfolio project and book called “Modern Women at Home in a Foreign Land.”

Chloe contacted me by email in mid-March 2011, sent a comprehensive questionnaire for me to respond to, and then we set up an appointment for her to come and meet and photograph me. She asked me to think of a place where I felt most at “home away from home” here in Paris and said that we would try to photograph me in that place.

The day Chloe arrived was cold and rainy, and while I had thought we might go to the Buttes Chaumont Park, after a cup of warming tea and some wonderful conversation, staying at my home seemed to be the best place to do the portrait.

While Chloe and I really connected with one another, and the photos she took of me in my home were really beautiful, neither of us was completely on our game that day — we’d both really shared from the heart when talking, and both of us carry a bit of heaviness within. Maybe the gray day also dampened the two of us: Chloe later felt that the photos were kind of “flat” and I told her that I had been feeling really “flat” inside for the past couple of weeks as well. We rescheduled for another photo shoot about a month later when spring finally decided to arrive in Paris, and this was the result:

Karin in the Parc des Buttes Chaumont by Chloe Lodge (2011)

She got it this time — she captured how I have come to appreciate Paris, and how the beginning of that was, in so many ways, because of this view in this park (the same view I use for this blog background).

Even before meeting up for this second photo shoot, however, I was really intrigued by our conversation and by Chloe’s story of how she came to professional photography and to Paris. After reading and answering the comprehensive questions she’d asked me, I realized I wanted to turn the tables on her and interview her as well. And that is just what I did.

Chloe’s Interview

Chloe and I did the interview both via email and in person over lunch at a nice “bobo” café on the rue des Pyrénées in the 20th arrondissement called “Aux Ours.” Chloe kindly submitted her answers in her own words and made posting this interview about her incredibly easy for me!

KARIN: I got to know you through blogger, MJ of An American Mom in Paris. You found her blog doing a search on expat women in Paris and asked her to be an integral part of your photography project. MJ and I have come to Paris for different reasons: she though her husband’s job and I because of my fiancé, who is American but has lived in Paris for over 20 years.

What about you? Where are you originally from? What has brought you to the City of Light? How long do you plan to be here?

The City of Light shines brightly at night, a Parisian taxi takes a drive along The Seine - by Chloe Lodge (March 2011)

CHLOE: I’m originally from the South of England. Two years ago I started looking for photography courses which would help me to elevate my previous interest in photography to a professional level. As it was a career break I was looking for an intensive course, the one year Masters programme at Spéos Photographic Institute fit the bill. Last September my husband and I moved here ready for my studies to begin.

KARIN: As an extension of the first set of questions, on a scale of 1 to 10, how “into” Paris are you? That is, how intentional was your choice of Paris as a city in which to study? (With 10 being super-intentional because you are a long-time Francophile and have a great love for the city, and 1 being you really don’t give a flip about Paris, but you found yourself here just the same.) Please elaborate on your choice.

Summertime by the Seine by Chloe Lodge -- "if you look really closely there is a true romantic Parisian sitting under the tree, inspired to write by the glint of the sun." (June 2011)

CHLOE: Most days its about 6, some days its closer to 9. Being English, France has always been ‘just across the channel’ so its never been somewhere I have been naturally drawn to, my desire was always to travel further. When I discovered the course at Spéos, however, I felt that it was drawing me here and that it was where I was meant to study photography. Now I am here, I love it and hate it, but most often love it. When something drives you crazy about the city there is always something round the next corner which makes you forgive and forget. I probably won’t realise how ‘into’ Paris I was until I’m living somewhere else!

KARIN: What is it about photography that attracts you not only as a hobby and/or passion, but also a profession?

A flourishing tree in Parc Buttes aux Chaumont, North of Paris, by Chloe Lodge (May 2011)

CHLOE: Photography is the one creative medium where I’ve felt truly able to express myself, growing up I tried painting, sculpture and even writing, but the results were always unsatisfactory in truly depicting my point of view. I love the freedom of photography, the ease of it, all you need is a camera, an interest in ‘seeing’ the world and away you go. Professionally, I also have been through a process of elimination, I love working with people and being creative, I’m also an organiser and as a job being a photographer is not just about the pictures – its about planning, researching, time management and delivering a great end result. In a nutshell, it ticks all my boxes!

KARIN: When we have spoken before, you mentioned that you are one of a smaller percentage of photography students in your program that has chosen to study the journalistic angle of photography instead of pursuing studio photography. What exactly is the difference between the two? What is it about journalistic photography that attracts you?

Lightening Strikes the City by Chloe Lodge (June 2011)

CHLOE: Simply put: being a studio photographer, you are inviting the world into your space and recreating something which wasn’t already there. Being a photojournalist, you are venturing out into the world and capturing what is unfolding in front of you. My intrigue has always been in the outside world, with moments in time which often happen through a series of fleeting consequence. I love the texture, light and substance of what is outside my front door, reality is often harsh but also very beautiful. In the craziness of life, with so many people, so many things around us, happening all the time – I love the challenge of trying to simplify it, too. As one of my greatest teachers taught me – remove all disturbing elements from your frame, this will make your images more powerful. And it really does.

KARIN: What kinds of themes do you find yourself drawn to in photography? In other words, of what kinds of things or subjects do you find yourself taking a lot of photos? Who or what are some of your favorite things to photograph?

Piazzo San Marco Under Water by Chloe Lodge (March 2011)

CHLOE: I used to take a lot of pictures of trees and flowers, trying to capture the real beauty in nature. I love order, too: symmetry, perspective, the classical point of view. I guess this comes from my years studying Renaissance Art at university. Now however, I have become braver and bolder and I translate this intrigue in natural beauty to people. Many photographers find it hard to capture people, never really getting close enough to be genuine in their intent. Its a challenge, but just as with learning to play an instrument, you have to do scales – over and over again. Its one of the reasons I chose to do a portrait series, and will continue this work. It is my desire to be a wonderful portrait photographer, so its simply a case of working hard to achieve that goal. Looking and learning all the time.

KARIN: What photographers have influenced your work? Which photographers do you find yourself emulating? Or, if you don’t really have any mentors in this way, what kinds of photographs do you find yourself appreciating again and again, and how do these preferences influence your work? In contrast, how is your work set apart from others at this point in time?

CHLOE: My taste in photography is a bit like my taste in music, I’ll love one song by an artist but maybe not their whole album. There are many beautiful photographs which really touch something in me and make me remember why I want to be a photographer, but really I would have to say my main influence comes from my six years studying Art History, right back from Giotto up to present day. I love understanding art, design, architecture — breaking a work down to the influences, the practical reasons behind the work, and, of course, the simple and pure indulgence of what was considered beautiful or aesthetic in any given period. I always loved the story-telling of Italian Renaissance art, the texture and colours of les Fauves and the light and depth of Rembrandt’s oils, the subject I conducted my degree dissertation on.

Strolling through the streets of Valletta, Malta by Chloe Lodge (May 2011)

I feel my work sets itself apart from others right now by being clear in its intent. I love black and white photography but I feel my strength is working with colour and often trying to capture beautiful light. My personal style is still developing. This is a lifetime’s work I know. But right now my simple aim is to capture the world through my eyes in a way everyone can understand and relate to. I am not trying to be clever or appeal to a narrow audience. My desire is that my work speaks to everyone.

KARIN: What is your biggest hope or dream for yourself when it comes to your photography work?

A lone politician listens intently during the 167th Séance of The Assemblée Nationale, by Chloe Lodge (May 2011)

CHLOE: At the moment my hope is to build a career as a photographer; with so much competition and so many economic challenges in the market today, to be able to earn a decent income from something I love would be a dream-come-true. If we are talking about the BIG dream – it was a childhood fantasy to work for the National Geographic. This is still a dream, but quite simply I would really love my portraits and reportage work to be published in magazines. I’d love to publish a book, and one day have an exhibition back here in Paris, and maybe New York… lots to work towards!

KARIN: What’s next for you after Paris?

CHLOE: My husband and I are heading off to Malaysia to live. He is from New Zealand and I grew up in England, so we are heading for an in-between point and we both love Asia. I am very excited to be heading somewhere which really inspires me. As Steve McCurry [photographer of the famous “Afghan Girl” photo featured on the June 1985 cover of National Geographic Magazine] said “Above all, I feed on the colors of Asia: deep henna, hammered gold, curry and saffron, rich black lacquer and painted-over rot. As I reflect back on it, I see it was the vibrant color of Asia that taught me to see and write in light.”

KARIN: As a final word (or words) about yourself, give five adjectives to describe yourself as a photographer or person, or both.

CHLOE: Creative, Independent, Organized, a People Person…

KARIN: … and I would add “Incredibly Talented”! 

A Masked Lady at the Venice Carnival by Chloe Lodge (March 2011)

There is so much more to Chloe’s story beyond the questions I asked her, such as the fact that she has traveled the world, planning only to be away for three months, but extending it to three years, doing such adventurous things as riding the Trans-Siberian Railway and spending four months backpacking in South-East Asia. She was the “right hand man” of  English adventurer, writer, and television presenter Bear Grylls, organizing and manning his Trans-Atlantic Arctic Expedition in 2003. She has worked in the world of event management and for large businesses such as Goldman Sachs, living a busy and social Londoner’s life. While living in New Zealand for two-and-a-half years, she not only re-discovered her very early love of photography with a new digital camera, but she met and fell in love with her now-husband, James, whom she married in 2010 in an intimate wedding on an Italian hillside.

But it was not until the tragic and shattering experience of her mother’s sudden death at the age of 58, three months to the day before Chloe and James’ wedding, that Chloe really took a step back to consider her life and realize that life is not only precious but also brief. It dawned on her that she could and should seize upon her hope and dream to study professional photography.

As Chloe wrote to me, “Is it possible for light to come from the darkness of utter tragedy?” She expanded with the following:

At the end of our year [at Spéos Photographic Institute], we had the joy of meeting Paolo Roversi. He came to speak with us about life, love, his work! And he said something which has stuck with me. He told us how he believes many people often think about photography as looking for beautiful light in a place, in a scene, but he believes what you really have to do is ‘start with the darkness and move to the light.’ Only then will you really understand the beauty of form and texture of light.

Isn’t this true of life as well? As it has been said before, only through darkness can we truly appreciate light.  Knowing that Chloe understands this about life makes her approach to photography (and life) a deep and rich experience.

You can find Chloe in the following places:

Finally…

As a part of “What’s Next?” for Chloe, she just learned this past week that the print she exhibited at her final exhibition at Spéos Photographic Institute this spring has been selected to be part of the “26 Years of Spéos” exhibition at Les Rencontres d’Arles — a photography festival in the South of France in July. The exhibition of  “26 Years of Spéos” will then be shown again in the Spéos Gallery (8, rue Jules Vallés, 75011) in Paris during November and December 2011.

This is quite an honor for Chloe’s work to have been selected for exhibition. Congratulations, Chloe!

Many thanks to Chloe for sharing her photos with me and for generously answering my questions. I am on a quest to learn more about creative people and their stories. It’s my hope to understand my own artistic process and goals as I find out about what makes other creative people “tick.” I’m really thankful to her for spending time with me so that I can discover more. I hope that you enjoyed learning more about Chloe as an up-and-coming photographer. I can’t wait to see what the future has in store for her! You can keep tabs on her and her work by following her at one of the links listed above. I know I will be keeping in touch with her to see how Chloe’s future as a photographer and creative soul emerges!

Yours,

Paris Karin

(an alien parisienne)

Categories: Interviews, Special Reports/Reviews | Tags: , , , , ,

Post navigation

31 thoughts on “Chloe Lodge Photography: Musings With Light

  1. Wow, what an outstanding post, Karin! Chloe’s work is fantastic and I loved reading more about her and how she’s gotten to where she is now. We all have our stories and they are all so compelling. She did a great job on your photo (treasure that one!) and I love several of the others like the tree, the chairs (a photo most would pass by I think), and the politician. Such great talent and she’s beautiful inside and out it seems. Thanks so much for sharing her with us, Karin!

    Shirley

    • Hi Shirley! It’s so nice to see you here! I’m just about to make a gluten-free, chestnut flour cake for a gathering this evening. Thank you for all of your inspiration on your site, too.

      We all have our stories and they are all so compelling.

      Isn’t this just the truth of it? I’m so happy to share Chloe and her work, for like you wrote, she is beautiful inside and out, and she creates beautiful images as well.

      Thank you for taking the time to stop by and read, Shirley!
      Karin

  2. Always very interesting and in depth writing Karin, a pleasure to read your articles.
    I keep an eye on what you published, and yes, you take time between two publication but you retaining the quality of your work.
    Keep well,
    Deebee

    • Hi DeeBee! Thank you for stopping by! I hope that your move went all right and that your new site is taking off! I need to go have a look to see what you have been up to! I started to think that I am only writing about once a month,but you’re right: it’s in-depth stuff. I feel like it’s becoming a magazine. 🙂 I’m having such a good time meeting up with creative people and talking to them about their projects. It is really fun. I’m glad you enjoyed reading, and I hope that your work is going well for you!

      Take care,
      Karin

  3. American Reader

    Hi Karin,
    You dont know me but I’ve been an avid follower of your blog for awhile. I must say that while I do adore your recent posts, I also miss the “old style” Alien Parissiene posts about your day-to-day life/gluten free living etc.! Any plans to return to the occasional posts about yourself? You are an authentic and honest writer and I greatly admire that about you – this is what makes your posts such fun to read!
    All my best,
    an anonymous american fan

    • Hello American Reader! I’m so glad to know you have been following for a while. You know what? I kind of miss those older posts, too! 🙂 Ever since this past fall/winter, I have been trying to get a groove back, and I think that I have felt like doing these interviews and reports has been a way for me to still keep writing, but not about personal things, which have felt too “close to the bone,” if that makes sense. Also, I kind of tend to go with where the spirit moves me, so to speak, and it has flowed in this direction of late. The other day, as I was putting this one together, I took note of the different categories on which I’d posted before, though, and immediately started to think of some different posts I could write in each category. I think this is a good sign that perhaps the parts of myself I more or less cut off in recent months is beginning to regenerate and move towards those more honest posts. It really is quite a lot my “style” to include that sort of personal writing. So “fingers crossed” I will feel some more of those kinds of posts come up. Send good juju my way that they will return, eh? Thank you. 🙂

      You take care, and thank you for your input!
      Karin

      • Ken

        I dunno, sounds almost like you want to revisit the bus and I think you’ve healed way beyond that. I was thinking that you could continue in the “journalistic, interview, photographic manner” and still include deeply personal vignettes (family life, diet and any other frustrations of the day). We have already met many of those in your circle and you have shared just a bit of who they are with us. Think of Karin as a TV show where we open with her doing whatever needs to be done at the moment and then out into Paris she goes, only to run ito this person or that (such as “Why look, it is none other than my friend Chloe! Did you know she is a professional photographer? Hi, Chloe, meet my readership. They would like to know you a little better. How did you become interested in working as a photographer?”) or Karin goes to a show or event. You get the idea (kinda like Mr Rogers Parisian neighborhood).

      • Hi Ken!

        I dunno, sounds almost like you want to revisit the bus and I think you’ve healed way beyond that. I was thinking that you could continue in the “journalistic, interview, photographic manner” and still include deeply personal vignettes (family life, diet and any other frustrations of the day).

        Yeah, I think that is really true, meaning: I’m past talking about those “kids on the bus” (although I never did that here…). I have changed and grown a lot in the past six months to a year. What I write is going to reflect that for sure. Anyway, I will likely go back to some kind of personal writing that is more focused on what I’m doing personally. Although, it’s like you write: what I am doing personally is meeting a lot of people like Chloe! I really super super LIKE this idea: (kinda like Mr Rogers Parisian neighborhood). No, in fact I super LOVE that idea!! I used to love that show when I was a wee thing, lol. Yeah, this stuff really is like how Mr. Rogers would talk to the postman or whatever! Not that Chloe is like a postman. But I remember Mr. R going to local workshops and to see artists and so on in the Neighborhood. This feels just like that to me. So perceptive of you to point that out. 🙂

  4. Wonderful post, Karin. Loved learning more about Chloe – now wishing I had gotten to spend more time with her while she was in Paris. Each person has such a unique, amazing life; I appreciate how both of you approach your work this way.

    Also, what a great idea to focus on creative folks as a way to understand your own artistic process. I’ll certainly look forward to more!

    • Hi paris (im)perfect / Sion!

      I just love people’s stories and I’m sure as you have found, too, it seems every expat who winds up in Paris for any amount of time has a pretty interesting story about how he or she got here. As you put it: unique and amazing. Inspirational.

      I’m finding there is quite a good synergy with asking people and taking to them about their creative work, and how I find it refines my own. It is very informative! Just like I have asked you about stuff before, too: each time I do there is something that sticks with me, makes sense, and helps me along the way, too. Your telling me about “mosaic writing” and writing scene-by-scene instead of word counts, for example, is something that is stuck. I think Chloe’s ideas about where her sense of vision comes from and about light emerging out of shadow are the things that stick with me from this. What I really feel, though, is that the best way to be creative is to just dooooo eeeet, eh? 😉

      Happy Writing to you, Sion. 🙂
      Karin

  5. The gal’s got talent, n’est-ce pas? Gorgeous photos – thanks for the introduction to Chloe, Karin!

    (And I, too, have totally been suffering from that shaky Cessna feeling of having so much to say and write but, woaaah!, just can’t seem to find that mid-air soaring feeling to do it….)

    • Hi dear Sweet Freak (aka Starts with A)! 🙂 Thank you so much for coming by and reading. I got excited to see your comment as it’s been awhile since I’ve been to your sites, too, and I got all excited about what I was reading there, so much so that I realized I’d better do first things first and reply there before I got caught up on your posts. It’s Sunday here, and a calm one, a reading one.

      I’m glad you like Chloe’s work. She’s a photographer I’m excited to see more from in the future, and like her, I hope she gets that National Geographic stint one day!

      I hope that you catch your wind with the writing. The personal blog stuff (I mean, c’mon, A, you have been writing ALL this time, I know it!! :D) sure has its fallow periods as well as its growth ones, huh. I’m in a place at the moment where I would like to carve out some undivided time to just tap out a bunch ‘o’ stuff, but the self-discipline of doing that is also another part of revving the engine, for me, anyways. But this was a good start at being able to do so, and something I’ve mentioned in other places, but not here is that I am finally, finally, FINALLY equipped to do so with a cheapo Dell laptop! YAY. All I need is a bit of focus now. 🙂

      Okay, now I can go off and check out the cookies you posted about and drool vicariously. 🙂

      Take care, A —
      Karin

  6. Wonderful post, I feel like I got to know both you and Chloe, I am interested in photography and have such awe and respect for those you “get it.” Loved the photos she took in Italy – the one of the Assembly Nationale is brilliant and also represents one of the things that pisses me off the most every time I see a scene from it on the news, etc…it is always empty!

    • Hi Andi!

      Thank you for reading. 🙂

      I’m glad that you felt both Chloe’s and my presence here in the post. We really had hours of good conversations with one another, and that seems to have been condensed into the post. And yeah, finding people who “get it” is really cool, isn’t it. Affirming. 🙂

      I got a chuckle over the part you wrote about the empty National Assembly. I had a good conversation last night with a couple of French women, one of whom has lived in South Africa for over 15 years. We were talking about the education system, and how it feeds the political hierarchy. (Yeah, it was a pretty French conversation, all in English. 😀 I loved it…) I wonder about the emptiness, though — is it that the only times photographers are let in during times when it is not fully occupied? Or is it always like that? Seems like I remember a French channel that is something like C-SPAN. I should either check that out (*yawn*) or maybe Chloe has an insight into that… I’ll have to remember to ask her when I see her next (or maybe she’ll see this and comment!).

      I hope things are going well for you, Andi.
      Have a good (rest of the) weekend!
      Karin

  7. ken

    Yanno, maybe I’ll change my direction in education. At fifty, it may be a little late to be thinking about degree, but instead, take classes to improve the knowledge I already have. I cannot see giving up restoration, but would like to go back to doing it as a volunteer to free myself up to do something like photography. My photographic skills are no where near professional quality though and would have to take some courses. The thing is courage that they would improve to that level. Or take all those biology courses so I actually know what I am doing and talking about at Parks, take a paying job then improv my photography while tied to a park….

    I can so connect with Chloe and yes, to get published in National Geographic would be a dream. I am so her description of the journalistic photographer (and probably for the same reasons as I’ve tried other things and can only really express myself through photography). I am all about capturing “the moment”, but would hardly call myself organised. The symmetry I seek is more of a social symmetry and juxtaposition, like a peirced, tattooed man in a three piece suit or a badly polluted pond in the middle of a perfectly groomed golf course….I need to find a way for my pictures to tell a story rather than trying to tell a story “and by the way, here are some pictures”. I’ll be looking or Chloe’s works.

    • Hi again, Ken.

      At fifty, it may be a little late to be thinking about degree, but instead, take classes to improve the knowledge I already have.

      It’s never to late to learn more as long as you are still breathing and have brain function. 🙂 I hope that you can figure out a way to learn more! I know there are a lot of free tips online, as well as sites focused on teaching people to take better photos.

      I like what you have to say about juxtaposition, too. Take more pics! Post them online!

      Best, Ken, and thank you for reading and commenting. 🙂

  8. Hey Karin….great post…absolutely lovely photo of you too…glad to hear you are doing well and getting your groove back….

    Keep smiling…passing thru Paris on the first weekend of July on our way to Florence…so excited to get back there…each visit is so different..this time I can just relax and not stress about seeing anything “touristy”…..one of these trips I have to get up to the Buttes! take care…..

    take c

    • Hellooooo, Deb! So nice to see you… and it will be really nice to SEE you here in Paris! 🙂

      Glad you enjoyed the post, and thanks for the props on the photo. It is appreciated. Yes, things are going pretty well & I am finding that groove again. Watching more Battlestar Galactica is helping. 😀

      I’ll send you a note about getting together. I know for sure I am going to have time on Saturday the 2nd. Sunday, we have some friends passing through Paris as well, and I may be spending time with them during the day on Sunday. Not sure what’s up with that, yet!

      You take care & have a safe journey here!
      Karin

  9. Carole

    I’m with American Reader: I rather miss those posts. They were so raw, honest, vulnerable and most definitely close to the bone, so I also understand why you might want to change course, so to speak. Then again, you have come such a long way from those days, yes? You are much more confident and your writing reflects this. It feels stronger, bigger somehow. Keep documenting what you see, feel, think. We’ll be right there with you. First, Karin’s Parisian neighborhood. Next: the WORLD!

    • Hi there, Carole! I’m so sorry I did not comment back until now. This week has been crazy busy, and HOT to boot. We finally got a break from the chillier weather at the beginning of the month, and temps soared to the high 30’s/upper 90’s to near 100°F. I. Wanted. To. Die. LOL. Okay, so it was nice to have my bones finally feeling warm again, but the warmth quickly went to the place of f__ing HOT. Misery. Anyway, I now have enough energy with a cooler day to type up a reply.

      Like I wrote earlier to American Reader, I miss the older posts, too, some days. And you’re right: I’ve changed, and so the posts have, too. But it is something I have wanted to write about — this change, and when I felt it, noticed it, and how it came about. I think I need to write about that. I have a couple more interviews lined up, and I hope to get them done through the summer. Paul and I will be in Canada again this year for most of August, and there is no electricity there, so no blogging. We can check email periodically, but otherwise it is a total break from technology, which is a good thing to have now and again.

      It’s good to know that the writing reflects the confidence I do indeed feel inside! 🙂 Thank you. And yes, makes me see all the more how I’d like to find a way to write about that, so let me keep steeping the thoughts, and see what comes out. 🙂

      Thanks Carole, and hope you are doing well in your neck of the woods!

  10. Wonderful photo of you! I loved the interview being into photography myself. She sounds like a really inspiring lady.

    • Hi Linda!

      I am so glad that you, as a fellow photographer, could get into the interview! I know that Chloe really made me think about my own love of images, and what has influenced me when I take pictures, too. She is such a creative intelligent person, and inspiring as well like you point out — if I captured that with the questions I asked, I am so glad!

      I hope you are doing well. Thank you for keeping up on your posts, especially on Facebook. I find on the crazy busy hot days we have been having, being able to peek in on Facebook and see what others are writing about and taking pictures of is just the right bite-sized piece of reading I can do. I appreciate it!

      Take care, Linda!
      Karin

  11. I really enjoyed this interview. You asked some very pertinent questions. I did not know Chloe’s work and am pleased that you introduced her and her art. I hope she will be able to sell many of her photographs to newspapers but I am afraid that the newspaper business is going down a bit. The photo of you is very attractive and natural. I like to take photographs and know how hard it is sometimes to get just the right light, the right pose, so I appreciate how good Chloe’s work is.

    Sorry I have not come to your blog sooner but after my trip I was quite behind. I hope you are well and enjoying the beginning of summer.

    • Hi Vagabonde! Thank you so much for coming by and reading. I am sure that you have had a LOT to catch up on after your trip & that reminds me that I need to go and catch up on your posts about your trip! I hope things are settling back in to a normal rhythm now. 🙂

      Thank you for the compliments on the photo. 🙂 I hope that perhaps professional photography will take new turns above and beyond print news articles, too — for I think you are correct that the news industry is changing. It seems, though, more than ever that we need people like Chloe portraying the world as it is “out there,” one that is not doctored & not Photoshopped to death. I’m glad that you can see as a photographer as well just how skilled Chloe is. I’m so glad to have showcased some of her work here!

      You take care, I hope that your summer is going well & I’ll see you on your blog soon, too.

  12. Karin – this is great! I love your picture.
    Thank you so much for introducing us to Chloe. I so agree with your first commenter, Shirley that ‘We all have our stories and they are all so compelling.’ However it takes a skilled hand to bring these stories to life. Well done.
    American Mom’s description of her time with Chloe (http://americanmominparis.blogspot.com/2011/04/tripod-of-betrayal-and-death.html) is one of the first ‘Paris’ blogs I read when I arrived here and is v funny. So glad I was able to see the finished products.
    Take care and hope to catch up soon!

    • Hi Jennifer! I’m glad you enjoyed reading & thank you fro including American Mom’s (MJ’s) link up there — that’s a *great* story! I’m glad that you got some more background on Chloe with this post. 🙂 You take care, too, and I hope we can connect again soon, too.

      Everyone who is reading this, click on Jennifer’s blog link up there, The Accidental Parisienne — she’s a great writer!

  13. A lovely interview with Chloe….I do share your sentiments about writing…the start is always the hardest….Great images…..xv

    • Thank you, Vicki! Funny thing: I wanted to comment about how you wrote “the start is always the hardest” and after the third try still did not have anything I liked, haha! Commenting is not always 100% easy either, lol. 😉

      So glad you enjoyed Chloe’s images! She is one talented gal. That reminds me: I need to pop over to her Tumblr page to see what’s new…

      Take care!

  14. Pingback: Special Report — Time Traveler Tours Presents: Beware Madame La Guillotine « An Alien Parisienne

Blog at WordPress.com.

